The Association of Theological Schools names three Distinguished Service Awardees at Biennial Meeting

By Eliza Smith Brown

The Association of Theological Schools (ATS) conferred its highest honor upon three veteran theological educators at the ATS Centennial Banquet on June 21, 2018 in Denver. The award is given at each ATS Biennial Meeting in recognition of the extraordinary contributions that awardees have made to the advancement of theological education. In honor of this year's Centennial, the Association named three recipients. Six of the 15 past honorees were also present and recognized at the banquet, and three of those six presented this year's awards.



Anne Anderson, CSJ has

been a leader in Canadian and Catholic theological education and religious life. She is a former president of the University of St. Michael's College, the first woman to hold that office (2008–2015), and former dean of St. Michael's

Faculty of Theology (2001–2008). Anderson's work to foster Jewish-Christian relationships is well known within Canada and Israel. She represents St. Michael's on the board of the Bat Kol Institute in Jerusalem and is the appointee of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops (CCCB) to the CCCB dialogue with the Canadian Rabbinic Caucus. She also serves as chair of the board of St. Joseph's Health System in Hamilton, Ontario.

Serving the broader ecology of North American theological education, she is a board member of the In Trust Center for Theological Schools. Anderson's contributions to the work of ATS have included service as both chair and vice chair of the Board of Commissioners, on the Audit and Personnel Committees, as chair of committees to assess educational effectiveness and the Task Force on BTh and non-baccalaureate credentialed students, and on at least 18 evaluation committees—the majority of them as chair. Her chapter on "Fulcrum Leadership and the Varied Dimensions of Governance" in *C*(*H*)*AOS Theory: Reflections of Chief Academic Officers in Theological Education* continues to serve as a guide for other deans.

Katarina Schuth (2016 awardee) presented the award to Anderson.



John Kinney is professor of theology and director, Center for African American Pentecostalism and Leadership Development at the Samuel Dewitt Proctor School of Theology at Virginia Union University, where he previously served as senior vice president and dean

(1990–2017). During his 27-year tenure, Kinney was at the forefront of national trends in theological schools as he oversaw enrollment growth from 100 to 400 students, expanded degree program offerings by adding a master's in Christian education and a DMin, joined with two other schools to form the Richmond Theological Consortium, introduced a dual degree in social work and ministry, and expanded the continuing education program to serve more than 5,000 lay and professional church leaders annually.



10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275-1110 T: 412-788-6505 • F: 412-788-6510 • www.ats.edu For 20 years, Kinney has served ATS in multiple leadership roles, as chair of the Committee on Race and Ethnicity (1998–2000); as a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Commission on Accrediting (2000– 2006), the final two years as its chair; and successively as vice president, president, and Personnel Committee chair of the Association (2006–2012). Kinney's service to academia is complemented by his 38 years of service to the parish as pastor of the Ebenezer Baptist Church in Beaverdam, Virginia.

Justo González (2014 awardee) presented the award to Kinney.



Richard J. Mouw is currently professor of faith and public life in the School of Theology at Fuller Theological Seminary, having served for 20 years (1993–2013) as its president. A philosopher, scholar, and author, he served as

Fuller's provost and senior vice president for four years prior to his presidency and as professor of Christian philosophy and ethics beginning in 1985. Before coming to Fuller, he served for 17 years as professor of philosophy at Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Mouw has served ATS as vice president, president, and Personnel Committee chair (2008–2014) as well as a member of the advisory committee for the Henry Luce III Fellows in Theology program. In addition to the formal positions and offices he has held, Mouw has provided exceptional service to the world of theological education. He has given countless addresses at seminaries across the country and has helped to shape significant dialogue among ATS schools. With his model of convicted civility—which he both advocates and practices—Mouw has helped evangelical seminaries engage fully in conversations within the Association, and he has engaged in significant ecumenical and interfaith dialogue and pioneered ecumenical dialogue between evangelical Christians and Mormons. He is the author of more than 20 books, most recently Adventures in Evangelical Civility: A Lifelong Quest for Common Ground.

Barbara Wheeler (2012 awardee) presented the award to Mouw.

Awardees are chosen according to the following criteria: (a) exceptional service to the Association and other organizations committed to the improvement of theological education; (b) innovative contribution to the establishment of forms and structures of theological education; (c) significant advancement of scholarship in the theological disciplines; or (d) unique contributions to the understanding and advancement of theological education.

According to the award guidelines, "The award is bestowed with the recognition that theological education is a shared vocation and all who invest themselves in it contribute to its quality and well-being. From time to time, however, there appear in our midst persons of exceptional vision, leadership, and influence who advance the causes of our enterprise in very significant ways to the benefit of all. It is such distinguished service that this award is intended to identify and honor."



<u>Eliza Smith Brown</u> is Director, Communications and External Relations at The Association of Theological Schools in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

